Top 15 Hindu God and Goddess You Should Know About

Share This Post

Starting with brief information that there are 33 million gods in Hinduism, all of them are a part of one Supreme being and also this article does not want to hurt anyone’s sentiments and belief. Now let’s start the countdown of the top 15 Hindu gods and goddesses.

Top 15 Hindu God and Goddess You Should Know About

1. Brahma

(Image credit:

Brahma is also called the creator as it is believed in Hinduism that he created the world. He’s also known as svayambhu which means self-born. He’s also a part of Supreme Trimurti of Hinduism along with Vishnu and Shiva.

2. Vishnu

(Image credit:

Vishnu is also known as the preserver or the protector. Whenever the world, created by Brahma is in danger, Vishnu takes an avatar to balance the good and the bad. Till now Vishnu had 10 avatars and his most popular avatar is ram and Krishna.

3. Shiva

(Image credit:

Shiva the third god of Trimurti. He’s also known as the destroyer as he’s a yogi who has nothing to do with the world and he destroys the greed, lust and anger of his devotee. He lives in Kailash mountain and he’s always meditating.

4. Lakshmi

(Image credit:

Laxmi is a goddess associated with wealth and fortune. She was born in samundra manthan. She’s also a part of tridevi along with Parvati and Saraswati. Vishnu is Lakshmi’s husband and she took the avatar of on earth with Vishnu’s avatar. Her famous avatars are Sita and Radha.

5. Parvati

(Image credit:

Parvati is the goddess of household, marriage, love and fertility. She chooses Shiva as her eternal consort. Parvati had three children Ganesh, Kartik, and Ashoksundari. She has many names because of her many characteristics like Gauri, Himavati, Uma, Ambika, Lalita. Etc.

6. Saraswati

(Image credit:

Saraswati is the goddess of learning, wisdom and art. Her consort is Brahma. In her photos, she was shown in a white saree sitting and playing the veena (Lute). She the last part of tridevi.

7. Durga

(Image credit:

Durga is the Supreme Goddess of India. Durga plays the role of a protective mother. She has eight hands and all of them are holding weapons except for one which is giving blessings to devotees.

Read alsoTop 15 Disney and Nickelodeon Originals to Remember our Childhood

8. Ganesh

(Image credit:

Ganesh is the son of Shiva and Parvati. He has an elephant’s head. There are many stories associated with his head. He is said to remove all the obstacles. People pray to Ganesh before the beginning of any venture.

9. Ram

(Image credit:

Ram is the seventh avatar of Vishnu. He was the emperor of Ayodhya. He was born to king Dashrath and queen Kausalya had three brothers Bharat, Laxman and Shatrughan, and was married to Sita. He’s the most ideal man ever born. Vishnu took his avatar to kill Ravana.

10. Krishna

(Image credit:

Krishna is the eighth avatar of Vishnu. He is known by many names like Kanha, Nandlal, Banke Bihari, Kanhaiya etc. Krishna is the God of love and tenderness. He’s the full avatar of Vishnu.

11. Hanuman

(Image credit:

Hanuman is the biggest devotee of Ram. He plays a central role in Hindu epic Ramayan. He was the son of Kesari and Anjana. Vayu dev is also said to be his father. He’s the God of celibacy as he himself practised celibacy his whole life.

12. Kali

(Image credit:

Kali is an avatar of Parvati. Where Parvati is all love and beauty, she’s the darker side of Parvati, who destroys evil. She’s also known as Kalika.

13. Indra

(Image credit: www.Youngisthan.In)

Indra is the God of Heaven, Rain, Thunderstorm, and Rivers. He is also the God of other devas. Whereas another god portrays only Good characteristics only, Vedas shows many bad characteristics of Indra as well.

14. Navgrah

(Image credit:

“Nav” means nine and “grah” means planets. Navgrah plays an important role in Hinduism and Hindu Astrology. Nav grah consists of Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Lunar ascending node, Lunar descending node.

15. Yamraj

(Image credit: www.Wiktionary. Org)

Yamaraj is the god of Death. He is also said to keep records of karma and gives righteous justice. Yamaraj is known as Yama as well, he’s also the God of kaal (time).

Read alsoTop 15 Types of Scariest Taboos Around the World

Subscribe to our channels on YouTube & Telegram

Related Posts

Top 15 Delicious Chocolates To Eat In The World

Chocolates are among the most blissful treats one can...

Top 15 Rare Sports You Might Be Unaware Of

Different sports around the world have entrenched themselves into...

Top 15 Most Common and Severe Mental Illnesses

There are more than 200 classified forms of mental illness, some of which you may have heard. Mental illnesses can affect not only the patient but the people around them as well. If not treated cautiously the illness can cause great harm to a number of people. Below is the list of the worst mental illnesses that affects people in horrifying ways.

Top 15 Animals that No Longer Exist in this World

Earth has been home to various magnificent flora and...

Top 15 Anime That Prove That They Are Just Not For Kids

Well, anime is nothing more than Japanese animation and...

Top 15 Unique Hair Colors That Are So Sexy!

New year; new you. So should be the new...

Latest Posts

Top 15 Ways To Know If Someone Is Depressed

Mental health is a subject that has been surrounded...

Top 15 Facts About The Seafood Industry

Seafood is a very much loved food by all...

Top 15 Little Known Facts About India

The holy land of India is the land of...

Understanding Urologic Cancers: Symptoms, Diagnosis, and Treatment Options

Cancer treatment is necessary to remove or destroy cancerous...

Top 15 Tricks to Wearing a Blonde Hair Wig If You’re A Black Woman

There isn't a style that black women can't kill...

Top 15 Best Air Purifying Plants

Every single human being today is surrounded by harmful...